THAI COCONUT CURRY SOUP- Spicy topped with NOODLES – 50th post and Giveaway/gift

                                         Yes, it’s my 50th post and I can’t believe I made it this far.

Coconut soup2


These last 3 months have been beyond what I could ask for. You being a huge part of it. Can you imagine that you work so hard on your recipe, your writing, your pictures, and you see 3 views? That sucks big time. I also saw that those views were mom’s, my teen’s and mine.

I remember when I was overwhelmed at the very thought and process of creating a blog. There were questions like ‘Honey,  how can I make this picture bigger’ to ‘Nik, can you please teach me how to add links’. They seem simple right, but too much for me then. Technical details seemed to pass through me without touching me.


The thrill when I got the first comment (apart from my baby boy) is indescribable. The first like on my facebook page by a big blogger
Rosa from Yummy Yum Yum was an awesome day.

The pictures constantly getting rejected from Foodgawker and Tastespotting is not fun..In fact I have a whole post planned up for listing all possible rejections:).

But time goes on, and soon you see more views and more comments. Next thing you know, you feel you are a part of the blogging world!

do feel very blessed to be doing what I enjoy, and the hard work gets paid off when I read comments. Even more precious are the friends I’ve made in the process.

Coconut soup1

 One thing,thank GOD, that I have  control of is the FOOD,  and photography is fun.  I have a long way, a really long learning way to go in both.

What I’ve got a kick out of is, showing off to my hubby, who thought I would give up after a week and blaming it on him:). Oh, well,  I’ve given him reasons to believe that.  Have I mentioned how much I HATE COMPUTERS..?? Wow,it’s hard to believe that I didn’t until now!


It’s quite rewarding, fun and challenging.  I have met a lot of fellow bloggers, chatted with some very cool nice people(you know who you are and thanks), exchanged comments with many and bullied by some(not the fun part). I do think and I hope I am motivated enough to stay this positive for a long time…Thanks for all the support you show this blog and to me. HUGS.

To  this amazing simple Thai COCONUT CURRY SOUP, a combination of Thai and Indian flavors. My friend, who is a great cook, makes some of the best Maharashtrian  meat dishes.  This is her version which we all love.  I’ve just made slight changes to her recipe to make mine a vegetarian version and combined some thai flavors.

IMG_5870 Coconut soup3

Now, that said, I am on my 50th post, yay!

 I want to give away a gift to one of you, my friends. This is not a sponsored product.  I have one of this, I’ve used it in parties, and love it. I hope you like what I chose for you.






All you have to do is share your thoughts/comments and make sure your link is present. If you like what you see on my page, please do subscribe and like my fb page(not necessary for the giveaway). We will chose 1 lucky winner and announce exactly who it is two weeks from now.  You can comment on this post until August 27th and it is only for US residents( sorry non-residents).  
It is a beautiful painters palette serving platter 16″, porcelain, which will look beautiful for your desserts or appetizers. 

THAI COCONUT CURRY SOUP

Ingredients:

Grind to a powder:

1 tsp of white poppy seeds
1 tsp of seasame seeds
2 tbsp of cashewnuts
1/2 tsp of cumin seeds

Grind all of the above to a fine powder.


For the Soup:


2 cans of light coconut milk(2 cups of fresh coconut milk)

3 cups of vegetable stock(home made is the best,but some of the carton one’s are great too)
1 inch ginger 
4 cloves garlic
3 green thai chilies(accordingly)
3 green onions
1 stick lemon grass
2 kaffir lime leaves
2 bay leaves
1 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp salt or to your taste
1 tsp sugar(optional)
handful of chopped cilantro/coriander leaves
2 cups of boiled whole wheat noodles or rice noodles
raisins to add in last(optional)

Method:


1. In a large heavy pot, add oil and let it get hot. Add bay leaves,ginger and garlic and fry on low heat.  Crush the lemon grass and kaffir lime leaves and add it to the pot.  Fry for a minute.

2. Add slit green chilies and chopped green onions and the vegetable stock.  Cover the lid bring the stock to a boil and then simmer it for 20 minutes.  
3. Add the coconut milk and the ground powder  and bring it to a boil with salt as required.  
4. Pass the whole soup through a sieve so you will get a smooth soup. Bring the soup again to a boil till it reaches a good consistency.
5. Serve with boiled whole wheat noodles or rice noodles. 
ENJOY!!

Note:

You could use shredded chicken to it.

You could use chicken stock too, tastes really good.
You could add fish sauce instead of salt.
This goes very well with some steamed rice too.

