BEET MASCARPONE COOKIES

Cookies1

Teen(running down, composed, soft yet strong tone)-“Mom, he tore the cover of my favorite book.”
8 yr old(following the teen, high pitched and talking fast)- “Mom it was an accident!”
Me(cooking in the kitchen, I want to be left alone. In a slow tone)- “Tell me, what do you want me to do?”
Teen(still composed)- “Give him a thinking time.”

Me(sighing)..”I just want to get my dinner ready, and I’ll deal with this later”.
Teen(disappointed and irritated)- “Not fair mom…” and goes away.

Two days later.  I walk into my backyard and see the HARRY POTTER book completely wet(the only day it rained in SF) and very antique looking. I got mad, rushed inside, and called for the little one(with a little louder voice) and showed him the book. I said, “You left the book in the garden, now you better pay 10 dollars and sit and think about it, OK?”
My little one runs to his room, counts his dollars religiously, 3 times, gives it to me and says, “I am sorry”. That puppy face, I had to hug him, gave his money back and said, “It’s OK, next time be more careful”.

All this while, the teen is standing there in shock and disbelief. He says with his annoyed composed tone, “NOT FAIR MOM, he gets a hug?? I was keeping that book well for years,treasured it, and now you give him a hug?”.

Beet Cookies2
Cookies6


These ‘feel good my dear’ COOKIES  will make anyone feel loved. It did make my teen feel better, at least for a bit.

Take a bite, and you feel like you’ve eaten cake, ice cream, and cookie all at once.  I can without a doubt say it’s one of the best cookies I’ve made in a while.  They are soft, pillowy on the inside, and slightly crunchy on the outside with sugary bits in every bite..OMG, it’s divine.  The beet juice adds a subtle yet beautiful and natural color. You can subconsciously taste it, but not that obviously.

BEET MASCARPONE CRACKLE COOKIES
Makes 3 dozen


Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt

1 stick or 113 gram unsalted butter
3/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
226 gram or 1 small tub of mascarpone cheese
2 tbsp fresh beet juice(grate beets and take the juice)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup of  sifted confectioners sugar

Method:

1. Mix All purpose flour, baking powder, salt and keep aside.
2. In a mixer with paddle attachment beat the butter and sugar till it is light and fluffy.
3. Add the eggs one at a time and incorporate well.
4. Add the mascarpone cheese and mix well.
5. Add the beet juice, vanilla extract and mix.
6. Mix in the flour, baking powder salt and bring it together to form a sticky dough,wrap in a plastic wrap and refrigerate for 2 hours.
7. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
8. Using a small ice cream scoop to make equal portions and roll  the dough in icing sugar very well all around uniformly.  Bake these cookies at 325 degrees for 25-30 minutes depending on your oven.  It took exactly 25 minutes for me.
9. They do soften after couple of days.  So store in airtight container after it is completely cooled.  
ENJOY!

. Copyright 2013 – Food Fashion Party

Cookies 3
