KOFTA CURRY – MEATBALLS IN TOMATO GRAVY

Here we are almost two months since school started, and I am excited after the first parent conference. 

FLASHBACK.((((((())))))

It is Sunday.  Not any other Sunday, a day which I don’t look forward to every year.  It’s bittersweet Sunday.

Kofta3

The boys are starting school tomorrow.
I put them to bed, after giving tight hugs and kisses.  It’s 8.30 p.m. The kids haven’t slept this early in two months.  I am tempted to sit for another 10 minutes chatting with them, but I know waking up 6 a.m would be hard for them.  So I refrain myself and come down with a slight bit of tears. Still, I am happy at the thought that I would have 8 hours to myself.

Pakoda Korma 3


Can we go out mom, take us swimming mom, bake us a cake mom, love you mom, can we go to the movies mom, I wanna buy a book mom, mom, mom, mom, I love you mom.  That was something I heard a lot of and I was sure gonna miss that.

Constant clean ups, constant spills, constantly yelling not to watch screen for more than an hour, constantly asking them to do their chores, hearing ‘I’m hungry, I’m hungry’, a bunch of boys screaming around running in and out of the backyard with shoes and without shoes,,..eww, not something I was gonna miss.

I asked the boys what they wanted to eat and my teen screamed, chicken and my baby boy screamed dosa.  Perfect. This was a combination I knew they’d like.


Fast Forward
, this Sunday I made this special meal I made that Sunday.


Masala1


Masala2


This kofta curry is smooth, very uniquely flavored and it has a special feel to it.  Make it for a crowd or just for your family, its almost the same amount of work. Scoop the curry with roti or serve it with some coconut rice, mmm…You could also serve it with dosa(rice pancakes), like we did. 

Pakoda Korma 2

MINCED CHICKEN KOFTA CURRY

Ingredients:

For the kofta
1 pound Minced chicken
2 tbsp ginger/garlic paste
1 tsp green chilly paste or tsp red chilly powder
1 tsp garam masala
2 tbsp finely chopped mint
1/2 red onion grated
1/4 tsp turmeric
1 egg
1 tsp salt or accordingly
OIL for deep frying or you could steam this

For the curry:

2 tbsp vegetable oil + 2 tbsp oil
1 inch cinnamom stick
4 cloves
3 cardamom pods
1 tsp cumin seeds
2 tsp coriander seeds
6 red chillies(use according to your taste)
6 cloves garlic
2 inch piece of ginger sliced
1 medium red onion chopped
2 medium tomatoes
1/2 cup fresh grated coconut or frozen coconut
1/4 tsp turmeric
1 tsp salt
2 cups water
1 tsp finely chopped cilantro for garnishing

Method:

1. In a bowl, add the minced chicken along with all the other ingredients except the oil.  Mix with light hand and do not over mix.
2. Make some round portions and keep it aside.
3. Heat 2-3 cups of oil. On medium high flame,  fry the koftas up till browned.  Keep aside
4. In a fry pan, add 2 tbsp oil. Let it get hot and add the cinnamom stick, cloves cardamom, cumin,coriander and red chillies. Fry a bit until you smell the spices, making sure not to burn it.
5. Add the chopped onion, garlic, ginger and fry on medium heat till it’s lightly browned.
6. Add the coconut and fry for a minute. Turn off the heat and let cool and come to room temperature.
7. Grind the mixture to a fine paste along with the tomatoes, adding a little bit of water.
8. In another pan add oil and add the ground mixture to it, add some salt and turmeric.  Add the rest of the water and on medium flame let the mixture cook.  Let boil for 15 minutes.
9. Add the fried koftas and let simmer it for another 10 minutes.  Check for salt and the curry should not be too runny or thick.
10. Garnish with cilantro. Traditionally served with coconut rice( brown butter -coconut -peas pilaf), dosa( rice pancake) or rotis.
ENJOY!

Note: You can steam the koftas alternatively to reduce the fat calories, it works good.
I’ve used minced chicken, you could use minced beef, minced lamb. Traditionally they make with lamb and beef.
This is a very traditional recipe which uses a lot of dry spices, you can alter the spice level to your taste.

Authentic COCONUT MILK RICE– Yum Yum Yum
Authentic DOSA-RICE AND LENTIL CREPE– E Curry

Pakoda Korma(antique)

